The GNWT has published a seasonal variation report | Aici

The Government of the North West Territory (GNWT) has released its Hearing Report on Seasonal Change.

The What We Heard Report contains a summary of the responses received in a six-week public consultation from April 4, 2022 to May 16, 2022. Residents of the Northwest Territories (NWT) were asked if want to keep the double- change of time every year or accept a single time.

The online survey received approximately 3,545 responses from NWT residents. 3,071 survey respondents favored ending daylight savings time and moving to daylight savings time, with 53.2% of respondents favoring daylight saving time. The most common reason behind this choice is the desire to have more hours of sunlight in the day.

The results of public participation will help inform the Executive Council’s decision on whether seasonal changes should be canceled and how long they should be taken.

No decision has been made at this time but if the GNWT is determined to move forward in the long term, it will not be immediate. A significant transition period is needed to inform residents, organizations, businesses, industries and technology and telecommunications providers so that they can prepare for the changes.

A quote

“The response to seasonal change speaks to how important this issue is to NWT residents. Thank you to everyone who took the time to comment. The response- your words will help the GNWT make good decisions about the territory.”

RJ Simpson, Minister of Justice

quick facts

  • Public participation was publicized through social media, local radio stations, newspaper ads and posters. Many participants and stakeholders were contacted directly and invited to participate in the survey. In addition to completing the survey online, residents were given the option to provide their responses by mail or email.
  • 3,545 people responded to the online survey. That’s far more than 2017’s cannabis influx, which was the previous high of 1,100 responses. The government also received written and email submissions from a wide range of people and organizations across the province.
  • Yukon, Saskatchewan, and parts of Nunavut and Quebec have already completed the seasonal change. Alberta held a referendum in 2021 where a majority of voters also rejected the proposal. In 2019 and 2020, British Columbia and Ontario passed legislation to allow them to stop changing seasons, and move to daylight saving time. These laws are not yet in effect and both provinces continue to change their clocks twice a year.

Related links

For media inquiries, please contact:

Ngan Trinh

Communications Consultant

Department of Justice

Government of the Northwest Territories


Phone number: 867-767-9256, ext. 82083

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *